Introduction

20120620-004723.jpg

Hey! My name is Malori and I am a senior at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo majoring in Food Science, with a minor in Industrial Technology, Packaging. I was born in Turlock, CA and raised most of my life in Danville, CA. My mom was born and raised Jewish and my dad Catholic, but my parents decided to have a Jewish family. My brother and I grew up attending synagogue regularly and I had a Bat Mitzvah when I was 13.

Although I grew up in a religious setting, I would not consider myself a religious individual. Throughout high school I loved learning about different religions and cultures and talking with my friends about their customs and traditions. Growing up, I was not surrounded by a lot of Jews in my public schools or in my extracurricular activities. My closest friends were of different faiths. I struggled with finding my appropriate label, something that I was comfortable with, whether I was Jewish or an Agnostic Jew.

I was raised with morals and values that have most definitely shaped my life, and yes religion did play a small role in that. I truly believe that morals and values are what matters. Jewish, Catholic, Christian, Agnostic, Atheist, Muslim, those are all labels that help shape people but morals and values define character. If people treat others with respect and understanding than religion and cultural differences can be shared and celebrated.

This study abroad program is my first major trip outside of the United States. I am so grateful to have the opportunity to study in London and experience new and different cultures and customs. The next six weeks will provide me with an opportunity to grow and expand my perspective of the world around me.

Leave a Reply

