Hello!

Starting from an early age I never really had a grasp on religion, what it was and what it meant to me. When asked what religion I was I would respond with a hasty, “Catholic? Christian? I suppose either of those.” Confused by not fully belonging to either it took me nearly twenty years to deem myself as not a religious person but a spiritual one. I do believe in God, but I don’t follow a church or a specific set of commandments. With that said, religion does not play a role in my life but God does.

Traveling has played a minimal part in my life, similar to religion. I did not leave California until I was 14 and I went to New York City for five days. The next time I left California was when I was 18 and I went to Mexico for 5 days. Once starting college, my traveling increased and I’ve been to Seattle, Washington and Canada. The most impactful traveling experience I have had was to New Orleans, Louisiana. Seventeen Cal Poly students and I went to the South for six days to volunteer with the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. New Orleans holds a very, very special place in my heart and a motto I do my best to follow is to “be a New Orleanian wherever you go.” It is the most rewarding experience I have had and is what has pushed me to travel more. With coming to London I am most excited to be out of my comfort zone, meet new people, and explore as much of London and the surrounding

cities as possible. The London guards are what I have been highly anticipating because I have always heard so much about them and am just intrigued to witness their stern expressions.

-Tayler (Fourth Year, Journalism Student with News Editorial Concentration)

One thought on “Hello!

  1. I did the Alternative Breaks trip to New Orleans in 2010! That’s so awesome, it’s a great program and really changes ya. I know Christina and she really improved it when she took over this last year and improved it for your group 🙂

Leave a Reply

